Bangalore University Courses

Updated on: Jan 28, 2013
Bangalore University in Bangalore is popularly known as BU. It was founded in the year 1964. The degrees offered by the University of Bangalore are recognized as a symbol for higher standard of education and useful in the professional field as well. Bangalore University has been accredited with five star status by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in 2001.

Bangalore University offers many numbers of courses in various disciplines of sciences, humanities, and business. Following is given Faculty Wise list of courses offered.

Faculty of Arts
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Kannada
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in English
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in French
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Hindi
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Sanskrit
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Telugu
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Urdu
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Economics
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in History
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Music / Master of Arts (M.A.)in Dance & Drama
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Political Science
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Rural Development
  • Master in Social Work (M.S. W)
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Sociology
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Visual Arts
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Women Studies
  • P.G. Diploma in Gandhian Studies
  • P.G. Diploma in Ambedkar Studies
P.G. = Postgraduate

Faculty of Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Apparel Technology and Management
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Botany
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Chemistry
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Bio-Chemistry
  • Master of Science (M.S) in Communication
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Electronic Media 
  • Master in Computer Application (MCA)
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Computer Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Electronic Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Environmental Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Geography
  • P.G Diploma in Geo Informatics
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Geology
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Applied Geology
  • M.Lib. & I.Sc. Master of Library & Information Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Mathematics
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Microbiology
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Biotechnology
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Physics
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Psychology
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Psychological Counseling
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Human Consciousness and Yogic Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Sericulture
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Statistics
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Zoology
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Applied Genetics
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Home Science
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Speech and Hearing
Faculty of Commerce
  • Master of Commerce (M.Com)
  • Master of Finance and Accounting
  • Master in Tourism Administration
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA) (Admission through VTU)
Faculty of Education
  • Master of Education (M.Ed) (Regular) 2 Semesters
  • Master of Physical Education (M.P.Ed) (4 Semesters)
  • Bachelor of Physical Education (B.P.Ed) (2 Semesters)
University Post Graduate Centre Kollar
  • Master of Arts (M.A) in Economics
  • Master of Arts (M.A) in Kannada
  • Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Botany
  • Master of Commerce (M.Com.)
Integrated Courses
  • Integrated M.Sc in Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Integrated M.Sc in Biological Sciences
  • Integrated M.A. in Social Sciences
  • Integrated Business Studies (MBS )
These courses are offered on semester-based pattern; duration of programs is 5 years (10 semesters).

Faculty of Engineering

University of Bangalore offers various engineering programs through faculty of engineering consisting following departments-
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science Engineering
  • Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering 
  • Department of Information Science Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Law
  1. Five-year integrated Bachelor of Laws (B.A.L,LL.B.) program; and
  2. Two-year specialized Master of Laws (LL.M.) program in
  • Criminal Law
  • Business Law
  • Constitution and Legal Order
  • Labour
  • Capital & Law, and
  • Environmental Law

When to apply?

Bangalore University issues detailed notification for admission into various courses every year. All such notifications carry vital information like eligibility criteria, last date for admission and admission procedure etc for a given course. For latest notifications from Bangalore University Click Here.


Bangalore University is not a fully residential institution. The university has limited number of hostels, which cannot cater to entire student community of the university. However, Patrons build many hostels in Bangalore in which outside students can seek residency. The Jnana Campus has 7 hostels; Student pursuing Postgraduate Programs can stay in 4 hostels, 1 hostel is exclusively reserve for women candidates. 1 hostel exclusively functions for College of Physical Education Students and 1 hostel for Department of Civil Engineering students.

The University Law College and University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering has 1 hostel each in their vicinity. There is 1 Hostel in Jayanagar for University Law College students. Hostels are also attached for men and women for Postgraduate centers at Tumkur and Kolar. The hostels attached with Central College and to the University Visveswaraya College of Engineering were home for many renowned statesmen, politicians, scientists, engineers and sportsmen.

Foreign / NRI Admissions

Foreign / NRI students seeking admission into Bangalore University can download the prescribed application form for admission from university official website and apply before 30th April of the year of admission. No Foreign Students shall be admitted to the Bangalore University without valid Visa. For more details Click Here.


Bangalore University arranges for many numbers of scholarships for meritorious students, and economically week students. Bangalore University, Endowment Agencies, Government of India and Karnataka State Government offer these scholarships.
Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Bangalore
Explore our interactive map!